Hospiten News

Check the latest news

Three Hospiten doctors among the leaders of the ‘Tops Doctors Awards 2016 list’

Posted on 07-02-2017

Doctors Manuel Angel Barrera, Manuel Maynar and Rafael Llorens are included on the list of the best doctors in Spain voted by their peers.

Three Hospiten specialists, Manuel Barrera, Manuel Maynar and Rafael Llorens have been included on the list of the best doctors in Spain 2016, a list drawn up by Top Doctors for the third year running and voted by medical professionals from all over Spain.

Professor Manuel Maynar (ULPGC) is the head of the Endolumninal Diagnostics and Therapeutics Service at Hospiten and pioneered endovascular surgery in Spain. In 1980 he carried out the first peripheral angioplasty in Spain, in 1988 he first broadcast cases real-time and in 1994 he was the first to repair an abdominal aortic aneurysm without the need for open surgery, amongst other achievements. He is the director of MOTIVA, a plan for technological innovation in the field of Minimally Invasive, Reconstructive and Regenerative Surgery.

Rafael Llorens is a consultant specialist in Cardiac Surgery and is the head of the Hospiten Cardiac Surgery Service. Amongst his professional achievements is the pioneering in Spain of the implanting of Coronary Bypass Surgery with mechanical anastomosis and of epidural anesthesia, both in 2004. He has more than 7,000 heart surgeries under his belt at Hospiten Rambla. Dr. Llorens is a member of leading scientific societies both in Spain and abroad.

Manuel Barrera is a specialist in General Surgery and is currently the head of the General and Gastrointestinal Surgery Unit at Hospiten Rambla. He combines medicine with lecturing and teaches at the University of La Laguna, in addition to publishing articles and speaking at congresses. He is also head of the Surgery Service and Liver Transplant Unit the Nuestra Señora de Canderlaria University Hospital in Tenerife (HUNSC).

Top Doctors Awards, the most prestigious international list of doctors, is holding its third edition in this country after a decade in the United States recognizing excellence in private medicine in the country.