Noticias Hospiten

Consulta las últimas novedades

Hospiten sponsors the XIII Canary Absolute Winter Trail Championship 2016 in Arona

Posted on 22-02-2016

Santa Cruz de Tenerife, February 22 2016

The Hospiten Group sponsored, as Official Medical and Physiotherapy Service, the XIII Canary Absolute Winter Trail Championship at the Antonio Dominguez Stadium in Arona.


The Hospiten Group collaborated on the XIII Canary Absolute Winter Trail Championship organized by the Canary Athletics Federation in collaboration with the Tenerife Island Government and Arona Council. 

In total, more than 500 athletes from all over the Canary archipelago took part in the sports event, whose medical and physiotherapy services were provided by Hospiten, in charge of the safety of all the participants in the more than 80 events in the different modalities and categories programmed.

The competition, which took place at the Antonio Dominguez Stadium in Arona, was open to all federated athletes meeting minimum marks pre-established by the federation, in accordance with gender and age.

Around twenty clubs, mostly from the islands, stepped onto the podium at least once during the championship. About fifty athletes achieved national minimums for state competitions in the different categories that started this weekend.

Among the members of Tenerife CajaCanarias there were seven partial victories. Cristo Rodriguez and Luis Denis dominated the three speed tests, with the usual wins for Luis Dyangani in the triple jump and for Nacho de Esquioz in the 60m hurdles. International athletes Simon Siverio and Joaquin Millan won gold medals with a 2.19m jump in his second attempt, and three failed attempts at 2.26m and 17.33 in shot put respectively.

Other victories were shared among a variety of competitions, with two titles for CAI. The winners were: Mario Castañeyra, Clator Orotava, in pole vault (3.75m); Angel Acosta, CEA Tenerife 1984, in long jump (6.81m); Eduardo Romero, UAVA, in 800m (1:54.11); Tore Dybdahl, CAI, in 1,500m (4:13.57) and Antonio Jesus Gonzalez, Globara Lanzarote, in 3,000m.

Among the women’s events, the Canary Division I athletes achieved a total of seven victories thanks to Sheila Cubas and Nana Jacob in 60m and 400m; Maria Davila in hurdles; Valentina Marzari in shot put, Adriana Dominguez, pole vault, Yanira Soto, long jump, and Amanda Rodriguez, triple jump.